Health & Wellness: Adult Health

• CDC Men' Health
  • Comprehensive site from the Centers for Disease Control on men's health with topics ranging from alcohol to safety.
• Men's Health - healthfinder.gov
  • ​​​​​​​U.S. Department of Health and Human services webpage with links to reliable consumer health sites on men's health.
• Men's Health: Medlineplus
  • ​​​​​​​A health topic page from MedlinePlus specifically geared to health problems faced by men.
• Men's Health at MayoClinic.com
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Mayo Clinic provides general health information for men including information on diet, exercise, screening and sexual health.

• Go Red for Women - Fight Heart Disease in Women
  • Go Red for Women encourages awareness of the issue of women and heart disease, and also action to save more lives.
• HealthyWomen
  • ​​​​​​​Nationally recognized site for women with the latest health information, including news updates, health tips, resources and extensive coverage of hundreds of health topics.
• MedlinePlus - Women's health
  • ​​​​​​​Health topic pages relevant to women.
• Patient Education pamphlets from ACOG
  • ​​​​​​​Patient level educational pamphlets on women's health (many with a Spanish version) from the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists.
• U.S. Department of Health & Human Services - Office on Women's Health
  • ​​​​​​​The Office on Women's Health provides national leadership and coordination to improve the health of women and girls through policy, education, and innovative programs.
• Women's Wellness Connection
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Women's Wellness Connection is a program that helps women who live in Colorado get free breast and cervical cancer screenings.

• Adult Services - Mesa County Department of Human Services
  • County agency responsible for providing a comprehensive package of community services to seniors.
• Aging Well from HelpGuide.org
  • ​​​​​​​Numerous articles on various aspects of healthy aging.
• Beacon Senior Resource Guide
  • ​​​​​​​Local resources for Mesa County seniors and their families.
• BenefitsCheckUp
  • ​​​​​​​Developed by the National Council on Aging, BenefitsCheckUp is the nation's most comprehensive Web-based service to screen for benefits programs for seniors with limited income and resources.
• Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
  • ​​​​​​​Federal agency that administers Medicare, Medicaid, the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP), and the Health Insurance Marketplace.
• EyeCare America
  • ​​​​​​​EyeCare America, the public service program of the Foundation of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, provides eye care at no out -of-pocket cost to those who qualify.
• Go4Life - National Institute of Aging
  • ​​​​​​​This website with exercises, motivational tips and free resources is a physical activity and exercise campaign for older adults from the National Institute of Aging.
• Healthy Aging - Mayo Clinic
  • ​​​​​​​Section of Mayo Clinic website devoted to topics on aging.
• Medicare Matters - National Council on Aging
  • ​​​​​​​Website designed to make it easier for people with Medicare (and those turning 65) to make informed and confident choices about their health coverage.
• Medicare Rights Center
  • ​​​​​​​The Medicare Rights Center is a national, nonprofit consumer service organization that works to ensure access to affordable health care for older adults and people with disabilities through counseling and advocacy, educational programs and public policy initiatives.
• National Council on Aging
  • ​​​​​​​Non-profit agency dedicated to improving the lives of older adults, especially the disadvantaged and vulnerable. Focus is on working with other agencies to help seniors find jobs and benefits, improve their health and live independently.
• National Institutes of Aging - Health Information
  • ​​​​​​​Basic health and wellness information for older adults from the National Institutes of Health.
• Older People's Health Issues from the Merck Manual
  • ​​​​​​​Online full text version of the print edition of Merck manual with the ability to enlarge text.
• Senior Daybreak
  • ​​​​​​​Senior Daybreak is a safe and stimulating day care program for seniors affected by dementia, Alzheimer's, and other medical frailties.
• Seniors' Health from MedlinePlus
  • ​​​​​​​Health topic from MedlinePlus focusing on senior health and related issues.
• SHIP Program - State Health Insurance Assistance Program
  • ​​​​​​​Free counseling for anyone needing information and/or assistance with their Medicare Health Insurance. The Mesa County RSVP SHIP can be accessed by calling 970-243-9839 Ext. 1
• Tool Kit for Health Care Advance Planning
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Information on the American Bar Association site for consumers on health care advance directives such as a living will or durable power of attorney for healthcare.

This database is accessible from the library's website and will require a current library card to login.

• Colorado Legal Forms
  • Library database with legal forms for various healthcare related issues such as advance directives, living wills, powers of attorney, wills, and an elder law handbook. See the sample searches at the bottom of the opening page of the database for easier linking.
• Legal Reference Center
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Legal Information Reference Center contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. The full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo­, the nation's oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.