Health & Wellness: Children & Teen Health

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry - Resources for Families

• This site provides consumer-friendly patient education with definitions, FAQs, expert interviews, and facts for families that are relevant to each disorder.

Children's Page: MedlinePlus

• This site contains a great collection of links, interactive tools, and games geared to educate kids about anatomy, health, nutrition, and safety.

Healthy Children.org

• This website for parents is provided by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

KidsHealth

• Find i​​​​​Information for kids, parents, and teens on physical, emotional, and behavioral issues presented in easy to understand, non-technical language.

Patient Education Online from American Academy of Pediatrics

• ​​​​​​​This American Academy of Pediatrics website provides information for consumers on child development, health and diseases, parenting, and child safety.

Teens' Page: MedlinePlus

• Visit this website to find information for teens on health and safety.

TeensHealth - from KidsHealth

• The nonprofit Nemours foundation provides accurate, easy to read information for teens on health, emotions, and life.

FamilyDoctor.org - For Teens

• This website of the American Academy of Family Physicians features info on topics relevant to teenagers.

girlshealth.gov

• Visit this website, targeted to girls 10-16 years old, that provides relevant and reliable information on health topics and relationship issues to promote healthy, positive behaviors.

NIDA for Teens - National Institute on Drug Abuse

• ​​​​​​​The National Institute on Aging (NIDA) created this site on drug abuse with the help of teens, enabling the fact-based content to be tailored to their concerns.

Children's Resource Directory - Grand Junction Kiwanis Club

• The Kiwanis Club and Western Colorado 2-1-1 have partnered to produce a comprehensive directory of resources and services for children and families.

Karis - Support to Homeless Teens

• Operated by a nonprofit organization, The House provides services and resources to homeless teens, including access to safe housing.

Mesa County Partnership for Children & Families

• This local agency provides information to parents of young children in need of parenting education or services in the local community.

Western Slope Center for Children

• This agency provides services to victims of child abuse and their families.

City of Grand Junction Fire

• The City of Grand Junction Fire website teaches visitors how to install a car seat and offers a link to request a car seat check appointment.

Call the 988 Suicide and Crisis Lifeline if you need to talk to someone about mental health, alcohol or drug-related concerns, if you are in emotional distress, or if you need support or a listening ear.  

El Logo de la Red Nacional para la Prevención del Suicidio (Versión en Español).

Mind Springs Health Crisis Resources

• Mind Springs Health is the Western slope’s largest behavioral health care organization.  Contact them to learn more about their services.

Mesa County - Suicide Prevention

• Visit Mesa County's website for information and resources on suicide prevention.

Trevor Project - Crisis Intervention and Suicide Prevention for LGBTQ Youth

• The Trevor Project offers immediate support and crisis counseling to those thinking about harming themselves.

Booklist of Young Adult Titles

• The library offers a list of books dealing with the topic of suicide.

Teen Mental Health - MedlinePlus

• MedlinePlus offers online health information resources for Teen Mental Health.