LibGuides: Health & Wellness: Drug/Supplements Information

Medication Safety

Disposal of Unused Medications
- The FDA website offers recommendations on how to dispose of most types of unused or expired medications.
BeMedWise
- This Website is a tool for consumers to safely use, store and dispose of medications for better health.
FDA - Consumer Drug Information and Medication Safety
- The FDA website provides information for consumers on the proper use of medications.

Money for Medications Assistance

Medicine Assistance Tool
- Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA) created the Medicine Assistance Tool (MAT) to provide a dedicated search engine that allows users to search for financial assistance resources available to them, through the various biopharmaceutical industry programs available for patients who are eligible.

Drug/Supplements Information Sites

Drug Information Portal
- Drug Information Portal provides quick access to quality drug information. The site contains information on over 31,000 drugs and is searchable by drug name or category.
Express Scripts Drug Information
- Drug Digest is a noncommercial, evidence-based consumer health and drug information site. You can find information on drugs, vitamins, herbs and supplements, check potential drug interactions, identify over 6,000 pills by name, and learn how to safely use medications. The site also has easy-to-read information on a variety of health topics and treatments.
Herbs At A Glance - National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
- Herbs at a Glance is a series of fact sheets that provides basic information about specific herbs or botanicals—common names, uses, potential side effects, and resources for more information.
LactMed
- LactMed from the NLM is a peer-reviewed database for breastfeeding mothers and their healthcare team to understand potential effects of drugs on breastfeeding infants. Developed by a pharmacist, the site has over 800 frequently used complementary and alternative medicine products.
MedlinePlus - Drug, Supplements and Herbal Information
- Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
Office of Dietary Supplements
- The Office of Dietary Supplements provides reliable information about the use, effectiveness, safety, and quality of dietary supplements. Includes fact sheets for health professionals and consumers, answers to common questions, and tips to help you choose and use dietary supplements wisely. Information is also available in Spanish.
Orphanet
- Orphanet provides information on rare diseases and the drugs used for their treatment.The site has a directory of patient organizations and expert resources.

Library Databases

Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete™ (CHC) is the single-most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.