Skip to main content
NOTICE: Mesa County Libraries to reopen on a limited basis Monday, June 8! Please see
this blog post
for all the details.
Check out our
COVID-19 Guide for additional resources and information.
Hours & Locations
Books + More
Mesa County Libraries Home
Search this Guide
Genealogy: Special Topics
Find both the library's and the internet's genealogy resources here, with links to local interests, research advice, and topical newsletters.
Online Tutorials and Newsletters
Rashleigh Regional History Room
They came in ships a guide to finding your immigrant ancestor's arrival record
John Philip Colletta
Call Number: 929.1 C698
Your guide to the federal census for genealogists, researchers, and family historians
Kathleen W. Hinckley
Call Number: 929.3 H659y
A genealogist's guide to discovering your female ancestors special strategies for uncovering hard-to-find information about your female lineage
Sharon DeBartolo Carmack
Call Number: 929.1082 C287g
Search for passenger ship immigrant arrivals.
Passenger List Search
Another means to search Ellis Island and other ports of entry for passenger records.
America's first immigration center greeted over 11 million between 1855 and 1892, the year that Ellis Ilsand opened.
U.S. Census Search Helpers
Use soundexing to search surname variations.
Enumeration districts are the areas by which the census was counted. Find maps and more.
A directory of links to online death indexes, death certificates or notices, obituaries and burial records.
Social Security Death Index
Find A Grave
Search cemetery records to find graves by name, date or location.
Search the Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System for ancestors who may have participated.
Civil War Archive
Search regimental indexes, battle reports, even soldiers' letters and diaries.
The National Archives page for genealogists on military records.
Search census, digitized family and local history books, genealogical and local history periodicals, Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files and the Freedman’s Bank Records.
How to Use HeritageQuest Online
Ancestry Library Edition
Genealogical database with censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, and more. In-library use only.
How to use Ancestry Library Edition
Includes billions of historical documents from over 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes and additional resources.
Book a librarian
Book a Librarian - Mesa County Libraries
Reference Librarians are available by appointment for help with business, genealogy, health, local history, computer, book and author questions and more. Book an individualized 30 minute appointment.
Local Interest >>
Apr 15, 2020 8:18 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
443 North 6th Street | Grand Junction, CO 81501 | (970) 243-4442