Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Obituaries in our Catalog
You can find obituary source information for an individual through the library catalog.
1. Start at our catalog.
2. From the dropdown menu, which says "Mesa County Libraries", select "Genealogy Records." (see this screenshot for more details: http://screencast.com/t/gSIctAGyoWrQ) To search, you can choose name or keyword. The initial screen displays matching names with birth and death date information below. If you click on the person's name, you will see the information you need - date and page number - to retrieve the obituary from the Sentinel's microfilm. Let us know if you would like a demonstration.
The library has a large magazine collection and you can check out all but the most current issue. Get up to date on recent genealogy updates with:
Newspapers on Microfilm
Located just outside of history room entrance at the Central Library:
- 2 dedicated computers with auto microfilm readers
- Daily Sentinel: 1893-2010. 2010 - present (with 3-month lag) is in electronic PDF format and accessible on the microfilm computers. (Please note we are missing the following reels of film: January 1950, February 1950, March 1950, February 1981, and January 1993. CMU may have access).
- Grand Junction News: 1882-1918
- Weekly Sentinel: 1897-1918
This service is not currently being offered due to COVID-19.
Mesa County Genealogy Society members will be available for one-on-one research assistance at various library locations throughout the year. The sessions rotate between Central, Fruita and Palisade and are held the 1st Friday of each month from 1:00-3:00 pm. Registration is limited to 15, but drop-ins are welcome. Please check these dates on our event calendar for registration details.
Search census, digitized family and local history books, genealogical and local history periodicals, Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files and the Freedman’s Bank Records.
Ancestry Library Edition
For a limited time, access Ancestry.com from home with your library card (usually in-library use only) through August 31st.
Includes billions of historical documents from over 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes and additional resources.
General Genealogy Websites and Directories
Use this LDS site to search for ancestors and access research advise. Also download a free organizing program, Personal Anscetral file.
Use this free, social-networking, collaborative organizational site to let family members anywhere contribute to the family tree.
Genealogy sources, information and research tips provided by a nation-wide volunteer network.
GenWeb's International website.
An Ancestry user's community that links to free websites and databases.
Contains links to over 270,000 genealogy sites, with articles, tips, records and more.
Links to genealogy information by state.
Provided by the National Center for Health Statistics, this site directs users on where to write for vital records.
This site from the National Archives is well organized and easy to use. Learn what resources the Archives have and how to get them. Browse other tips, hints, tutorials and research advice.
County-Clerks.com is a directory of every single county clerk's office in the United States. There are over 3,000 county clerks offices that we have contact information for. Find a county clerk in your state today and get access to the information that you are looking for.
Native American Genealogy
Resources for researching Native America lineage.
Book a librarian
Book a Librarian - Mesa County Libraries
Reference Librarians are available by appointment for help with business, genealogy, health, local history, computer, book and author questions and more. Book an individualized 30 minute appointment.