Skip to main content

Genealogy: Rashleigh Regional History Room

Find both the library's and the internet's genealogy resources here, with links to local interests, research advice, and topical newsletters.

Rashleigh Regional History Room at Central

Mesa County Library has a regional history room located at our Central library. The collection includes city directories, local histories, gravestone inscriptions, railway information, and more.

The Rashleigh Regional History Room is named in honor of Rosemary Rashleigh, long-time library supporter and former member of the Mesa County Libraries Board of Trustees.

Available Regional History Resources

Grand Junction Polk City Directories

From the current year going back to 1904, this mostly complete collection includes a reverse phone number directory in addition to directories of street address and names. Older editions will sometimes include occupation, marital status and information on whether the person rented or owned property. R 917.88 C751g

Grand Junction Telephone Directories                                                                                 

Current year going back to the 1943.

Hayden Survey

The locked case contains the 1877 Hayden Survey of Colorado.  Map can be seen by appointment only.  Please see the Central Library information desk for more information.

Railroad Section

Includes detailed railroad history titles, mostly but not entirely, dealing with the Western region of the United States. R 385.09788 

Colorado Brand Books

Past and present listings of all registered livestock brands in the state.

Western Colorado Section

The Grand Heritage: by local historian Dave Fishell. R 978.8171 F532g

George Crawford’s Attic: by Deborah Brockett. R 978.8171 B864g

125 people, 125 years : Grand Junction's story: by Laurena Davis. R 978.817 D262o

Monumental majesty : 100 years of Colorado National Monument.: by Laurena Mayne Davis. R 978.817 M815

Yearbooks

Older yearbooks from local middle schools, high schools and Colorado Mesa University (formerly Mesa State College).

The War of the Rebellion: a compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies

Exhaustive records on the American Civil War. Includes first-hand accounts, maps, and field reports. R 973.73 U58w

Gravestone Inscriptions        

Booklets list gravestone inscriptions for the following cemeteries:
DeBeque, Glade Park, Battlement (Parachute), Bethlehem (Paonia), Cedar Crest (Collbran), Clover (Collbran), Eagalite (Plateau City), Elmwood (Fruita), Fairview (Mesa), Palisade, Sacred Heart (Fruita), Veterans Crownpoint (Appleton, Whitewater.
R 929.3

Grand Valley Magazine

Entire set of the locally published magazine, from 2008 to current.